Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce

The Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce has established its own website.
Please visit the Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce website for information about current inquiries. 

The Wheat Export Marketing Amendment Act 2012 (the Act), passed by parliament on 29 November 2012, requires the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Senator the Hon. Joe Ludwig, to form a wheat industry advisory taskforce by 5 February 2013. The taskforce will, amongst other things, examine key issues facing the industry, including availability of stocks information and quality integrity, and provide recommendations to government and industry for their consideration.

In forming the taskforce, Minister Ludwig, invited key industry stakeholders to participate on a selection committee and provide recommendations for taskforce membership. The committee comprised equal representation across the grower, trader/exporter and port terminal operator sectors, and was led by independent Chair, Mr Bob Granger.

On 1 February 2013, Minister Ludwig announced the members of the Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce and released its terms of reference. The taskforce will provide its final report by 1 July 2014.

Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce Appointees Profiles

Dr Michele Allan, Chair

Dr Allan has 30 years of experience in a wide variety of fields in executive and non–executive roles, including Birchip Cropping Group, Grains and Legumes Nutrition, and Food Standards Australia and New Zealand. Dr Allan has a strong background in competition policy, enterprise risk management and public policy and regulation within the food and agriculture sector.

Mr Mark Barber

Mr Barber has 20 years of experience in agriculture, including as agribusiness practice leader in one of Australia’s largest economic consulting firms, ACIL Tasman. He has been a farm business management consultant in the mixed farming region of southern New South Wales.

Mr David Fulwood

Mr Fulwood is a Nuffield Scholar and the managing director of a family farm business in Western Australia. He has been involved in the industry for over 15 years and has a strong background in wheat trading and sales.

Mr Imre Mencshelyi

Mr Mencshelyi is a highly respected and well experienced executive manager in the grains industry. Previously Group Chief Executive Officer of the CBH Group of Companies, he played a leading role in the restructuring of grain marketing arrangements in Western Australia.

Mr Mitch Morison

Mr Morison has 20 years of commodity trade management experience in global grain markets. Until recently he was the Commercial General Manager at Cargill Australia Ltd where he led sales and marketing activities for domestic and international customers.

Ms Rebecca Reardon

Ms Reardon has 19 years of experience in the Australian grains industry from international and domestic trading companies to bulk handler organisations to grower co–operatives. She is Chief Executive Officer of Walgett Special One Co–operative and an owner/operator of a grain growing operation in Moree, New South Wales.

Mr Graham Shields

Mr Shields is a highly respected wheat producer with 45 years of grain production in the central wheat belt and the south west wheat belt in Western Australia. He has strong experience in marketing and business management, with a background in grains export, fertilizer import and distribution, and udon noodle manufacturing.