International collaboration

Australia collaborates with other aquaculture centres in the Asia Pacific region, which enables the sharing of resources, expertise and experiences.

The Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific

The Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific (NACA) is a regional aquaculture research and development network. In 2011 NACA consisted of 18 member governments:

  • Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, North Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.
  • NACA's partners include organisations such as the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, United Nations Development Programme, the Asian Development Bank, World Bank, OIE (World Animal Health Organization), the Mekong River Commission, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, European Union, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, Australian Government’s Overseas Aid Program (AusAID), the Asian Institute of Technology, World Wide Fund for Nature, MacArthur Foundation and the Rockefeller Brothers Fund.

Australia has had a long association with NACA. Australia's membership was formalised when the Instrument of Accession was lodged in the Australian Parliament on 1 July 1998.

NACA operates on a principle of collaboration between member economies, allowing research costs to be minimised through collaborative projects and the sharing of training capacity.

NACA provides a mechanism for multilateral cooperation on issues of common interest in the region, and sharing of information on regional developments and concerns in aquaculture. The Department of Agriculture’s contribution to and participation in NACA activities enables the department’s capacity building projects in the region to meet regional and Australian priorities for sustainable aquaculture development, leading to enhanced food security and facilitation of safe trade in aquatic animal commodities.